College of Business: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Important Site Links

Varsity Sport of MBA Programs


With the generous support of ADM, Bosch, Cooper Power Systems, PolyOne, TriZetto and Whirlpool, the Illinois MBA hosted the 3rd Annual MBA Strategy Case Competition February 10-12, 2011.

Teams of four MBA students from eleven notable programs joined Illinois in our own Business Instructional Facility in a tournament-style case competition where eager MBA students do what they do best—analyzing a business to reveal opportunities for improvement. The participating schools included Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Purdue, Baylor, Iowa State, Miami University, Connecticut, and Notre Dame. 

The case this year revolved around NCsoft a leading developer and publisher of online games.

After a Thursday evening of networking, students gathered early Friday morning to hear College of Business Dean Larry DeBrock and MBA Dean Stig Lanesskog welcome them and commence the start of the competition.

Shortly after the teams received their case they began the first round of presentations. The twelve teams were randomly divided into three groups of four teams. Each team presented during the preliminary round, and the top team from each group advanced to the final round.

Hard work and quick thinking helped Iowa, Iowa State, and Miami University advance to the final round where they presented to a different panel of judges from the first round competition. Each team presented unique recommendations for the case, making it difficult for the judges to select a single winning team.

“The case touched on several challenging academic and practical issues that impacted the strategy and solutions,” said Vishwanath Nadgir from the Illinois Team. “The judges and organizers did an excellent job creating a fun and competitive event.”

The event concluded with Dinner and an Awards Banquet recognizing participants, sponsors, and judges.

“The competition this year was outstanding. The case, the caliber of judges, the organization and coordination, and the number of schools were all exceptional,” said Steve Sash, also from the Illinois team.

The final awards are as follows:

1st Place – University of Iowa ($4,000)
2nd Place – Miami University ($2,000)
3rd Place – Iowa State ($1,000)

Special awards were granted to individuals selected from all the teams based on speaking and responding to questions. Davis Moore (Baylor), Prnuv Sharma (Miami), Christina Lopiccolo (Ohio State), and Drew Mendrygal (Michigan State) were each recognized as Best Speaker. Ryan Kent (Iowa State), Julia Tran (Michigan), Vishwanath Nadgir (Illinois), and Yakubu Agbese (Iowa) were recognized as Best Q&A.


UIUC College of Business